artemisia gentileschi , jacopo amigoni and peggy guggenheim

the form disappears but the root is eternal

peggy guggenheim collection, venice

photography by rinaldo rasa, december 2003


It is a strange way what image surprises the flow of time or better the root of time. First of all a newspaper clipping from April 5, 1993 reproducing a painting by Artemisia Gentileschi titled “Jael and Sisera”. The scene hits me.

 

During this December the Municipality of Venice created the Exhibit “About Klimt. Judith, heroism and seduction”. I went to the exhibit and I see the painting by Jacopo Amigoni (a venetian painter of the eighteenth century) titled “Jael kills Sisera”.

The gear of my mind remind me the picture of twenty five years ago. The action made by Jael is very crude: a nail hammered in a human head but both the scene painted by Artemisia and Jacopo are not an horror movie shot. Maybe Artemisia Gentileschi is a bit too much calm and Jacopo Amigoni shows a bit of ironic way how hammering a nail in a man. Oh, I can’t resist hence I took a picture of the Amigoni’s painting. When at home I see that my photographic shot hides the hammer. I can’t believe that the digital camera (as a image robot) wished erasing the hammer.

.

.


.

.

Peggy Guggenheim buried here and there the babies.

photography by rinaldo rasa, venice december 2003

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Saturday December 31, 2016


 

